Waterproof Your Makeup Like a Fitness Pro

I’m a fitness instructor, and as such, I spend a lot of my day sweaty.  LIke, a lot.  Like, imagine working out and sweating, but then having to go back to your job – without showering.  Then do that again.  Maybe three more times.  That’s my day.

Obviously deodorant, dry shampoo, hairspray and perfume play a huge role in my life (and I go through bottles of these things on a near-weekly basis).  But what is most crucial to getting through the day looking semi-professional are my waterproof makeup tricks – a combination of products, creative layering, and a commitment to consistency.

No matter what, I wash my face with my Clarisonic Mia brush and pat on Simple gel moisturizer – a gel moisturizer keeps the face relatively matte (if I want to add “glow” I’ll use product) and creates a smooth surface for the next step – sunscreen.  I am addicted to Cotz Face, a lightly tinted SPF 40 that also helps smooth out the “canvas” of my face for the next step – priming.

Primer is key, and if anyone tries to tell your your makeup is going to last 24+ hours, or 2+ workouts, without it – they’re lying.  Although I was just telling a client today that I am still on the lookout for the perfect primer (any suggestions, readers?), I vacillate between Smashbox Photo Finish and L’Oreal Miracle Blur.  Don’t forget to prime the eyes too!  If you want even a prayer of keeping your mascara in place, your eyeliner along the lash line, and your shadows on your lids, you gotta prime up – and I will only use Urban Decay Anti-Aging Eyeshadow Primer Potion.

There are days that the sunscreen and primer combo is enough for my skin – but there are days I need a little bit more coverage.  On those days, I buff in it Cosmetics Celebration Foundation over the primed face for an even, redness-reducing but natural base.

Once my face is prepped, I move on to the blush – a cream blush is going to have the most holding power since you rub it in rather than brush it on, and I really like the classic Tarte Cheek Stain since it’s relatively foolproof.  I’ll usually skip bronzer and contouring for a workout day, but if I was to contour I’d be using Maybelline Instant Age Rewind Concealer (two shades lighter than my skin tone) and Tarte The Sculptor face slenderizing stick.

Ok, now we need to get serious.  Sit down.  Pull out your savings account.  All of it.  Then shake it into the coffers over at Make Up For Ever.  Their Aqua line of products is basically all you need for the rest of your entire face – their waterproof cream eye shadow (which I use in black as eyeliner), brow cream (stays on FOR EVER.  like, scary amounts of time), and rouge lip color will outlast anything you could possibly do in the gym.  But the real secret there is their Aqua Seal – it turns regular products (even complicated stuff like glitter, pencils, or highlighting powders) into waterproof masterpieces.  Yep.  You don’t even NEED to buy their (again, amazing) products if you buy the seal and “seal up” your existing products.

You will note that I haven’t talked mascara yet – because, shock of all shockers, I actually use normal mascara (Dior Iconic Overcurl, natch).  Not waterproof.  Weird, I know, but I find that waterproof mascara actually irritates my eyes (and flakes off), while my regular mascara (upper lashes only, let’s not be crazy – we are sweating here, ladies) curls my eyelashes up and keeps them out of damp areas.  I’ve yet to have a drippy clown-crying effect using this mascara, even in sweaty Spin classes, so I consider it a win.

AND FINALLY – yes, there’s one more step – I seal everything in with one of two powders, depending on how long I need it to last and how “glowy” I want to look.  My usual go-to is it Cosmetics CC powder, brushed lightly all over the face (even my eyeshadow!) to seal it in.  But when I want to radiate a bit more (or last a bit longer), I’ll poof on some Cover FX Illuminating Setting Powder – the perfect loose powder to hold everything together while looking fresh and natural.

It seems like a lot at first, but I will tell you – layering and aqua-proofing takes way less time than constantly reapplying and touching up, and the quality of the products will also help your skin stay clear, sun-protected, and healthy looking all day.

What are your favorite fitness-friendly makeup products?  What long-wearing cosmetics do you swear by?

4 thoughts on “Waterproof Your Makeup Like a Fitness Pro

  1. Holy moly, you never cease to amaze me!!! That’s impressive! I’ve always wondered how you look so smashingly put together at the end of the day! You always look FANTASTIC! Miss your face though!

    Like

Leave a Reply

