Break, Fast.

I get it.  Eating in the mornings is hard.  You have about a million things to do before you head out the door, you’re exhausted from never getting enough sleep, and to top it all off, you’re not even that hungry (that last problem can be addressed with one of my other posts on eating patterns, but I digress).

But all the research shows breakfast is the most important meal of the day!  It’s also the one where you can eat the most fun/carby/not-super-clean stuff.  So why are so many people skipping it altogether?

I have a theory.  People are bored.  Add to that the fact that they are confused, because we all grew up eating boxed cereal (well I did, anyway, I don’t know about the rest of you hippies) and unless you live under a rock, you know that boxed cereal has about the nutritional equivalent of the box itself (actually, worse, because at least the box might be sugar-free).

So again – what to do?

You know TFB has your back on this – I’m an avid breakfast eater, and one of those weirdos who, whenever their mom would ask what I wanted for dinner, would say “Breakfast!” and dive joyously into pancakes, eggs and bacon at 6pm.  Breakfast foods are delicious, but beyond that they are easy to sneak produce servings into (eggs florentine?  fruit salad?  quiche?) and still maintain the general semblance of good health.

What do I eat for breakfast?  Truth be told, I rotate between three general breakfasts.  The first is egg whites with spinach over a whole-wheat pita, topped liberally with Sriracha.  My little trick is that I make the egg whites in the microwave – simply pour them into a microwave-safe bowl, top with spinach, slide a plate over that bad boy to prevent splatter, and heat for 3.5 minutes.  When it’s done, you just invert the bowl onto the plate and BOOM – a nice little egg white bundle to sit atop your pita and be delicious.  You’re welcome.

My second go-to is prot-meal, which is my dorky name for oatmeal with protein powder mixed in.  I use 1/2 cup organic old-fashioned rolled oats (although you can definitely use steel-cut if you prefer), add in one scoop of IsoPure Zero Carb Cookies & Cream protein powder, throw in a good 3/4 cup of frozen blueberries, sprinkle with chopped walnuts, and toss on some cinnamon.  After I add about a cup of water, I microwave the whole thing for 2.5 minutes (so the blueberries can heat up) and have a thick, satisfying morning bowl of oats that tastes and feels like a cookie – and keeps me full for hours.

Not a big fan of the microwave?  Not to worry, my third reliable breakfast is a quick green shake with a banana and natural chunky peanut butter on the side.  I mix up spinach, 1/2 apple, 1 Persian cucumber, 1/3 zucchini, and a big handful of mint along with a spritz of lemon (and a shave of ginger if I feel a cold coming on), water and ice – blend in the Vitamix until smooth and chug down with the banana and PB on the side for a bit of good carbs and fat.

And don’t worry – if none of my breakfast meals sound appetizing to you, I won’t be offended.  You can always check out this amazing list of 31 low-carb breakfast meals and get inspired – the pictures alone will make you ravenous!

What are your favorite healthy breakfasts?  Are you a breakfast eater – or a breakfast skipper?

One thought on “Break, Fast.

Leave a Reply

