Pick Six: The Football Workout

I’m a football fan, sure.  But I’m also an exercise enthusiast.  So when it comes to game day, I have to make sure I get my workout on well before the games start playing (and on the West Coast, that’s no small feat – our games start at 10am!).

That said, I am always looking for a fast, effective, minimal-equipment workout routine that allows me to a) sleep in a little bit on a Sunday, b) look nice and toned for the game-watching events, and c) work up a massive sweat.

I present to you for consideration: my “pick six” game day workout.  The basic idea is this: six exercises, six sets, decreasing reps from ten down to – you guessed it – six.  All you need to get started is a pair of (relatively heavy) dumbbells, a chin-up bar, and a nice space to lay your body down for burpees and abs.  Ready?  Here we go:

Pull-ups (or lat

Want more?  When I actually did this workout in the gym yesterday, I added a bit since I had a full hour to get busy – here’s the “full form” workout for you animals out there:

WARM UP – 5 minutes running on the treadmill, rowing, or climbing stairs

SET #1 – Complete set above as described.

STAY WARM – 2 minutes jumping rope

SET #2 – Complete the exercises below in a similar pattern to the first set (2 x 10 reps, 2 x 8 reps, 2 x 6 reps):

FINISH STRONG – 5 minutes running, rowing, or climbing stairs

Try the shorter version workout when you are pressed for time – and the full version when you really want to kill it in the gym!  Feel free to share this one around (anyone can squeeze the short one in, even between setting up your fantasy lineup for the week and cracking open the first beer) – and let me know how you like it!

What’s your pre-game ritual?  Is Sunday a rest day or a workout day for you?

Leave a Reply

