A Weight Training Breakdown

The secret is out: I love lifting weights.  I always have, or at least since my dear friend (and soon-to-be bridesmaid!) Marilyn took me to the gym our freshman year of college and showed me how to properly lift them.

Immediately I was enthralled – goodbye, cardio body, hello, strong, fit body (well, stronger, fitter body – in college I was still quite soft what with the all-beer-and-booze diet).

I dragged through 20 minutes on the elliptical (hey, it was the early ’00s) just so I could be warmed up enough to power through my favorite part of the workout – weights!  I loved picking them up, feeling their heavy weight, slogging them around the weight room and feeling like a warrior princess when I progressed to the next level.  I was hooked.

Fast-forward nearly 16 (!) years later, and the love story continues.  I lift weights most days of the week, taking one rest day during the week (usually Tuesdays, when I teach a high-intensity interval class at the gym) and one yoga day on the weekend (usually Sunday).  I lift in splits, I lift in supersets, I lift with drops, I lift with intervals.

But I always lift with purpose.

I wanted to share with you guys a few of my favorite moves, the weights I use to do them, and one of the ways I structure my sets, just to give you some ideas for your own weights workouts – and I am happy to hear what you do in the gym too!

TFB Fave (Shoulders & Triceps)

Key Moves (3 sets, 12 reps):

TFB Wedding Dress Workout (Back & Biceps)

Key Moves 3 sets, 12 reps):

TFB Lean Legs Day

Key Moves (3 sets, 15 reps):

What are your favorite body parts to lift?  What exercises do you like best?

4 thoughts on “A Weight Training Breakdown

  1. Pingback: Ask Amanda: Stretching, The Truth | thisfitblonde

  2. Pingback: Ask Amanda: The Opposite of Exercise | thisfitblonde

  3. Pingback: Ask Amanda: Back Back Front and Front | thisfitblonde

  4. Pingback: Ask Amanda: Back It Up & Drop It | thisfitblonde

Leave a comment